MEA elects new directors and office bearers Down Under

Australasia News
MEA elects new directors and office bearers Down Under

Meetings & Events Australia (MEA) held its Annual General Meeting (AGM), 23 November, at which the results of the association’s annual Board director election ballot was announced. Three positions were contested following resignations by incumbent directors Nigel Collin, Kirsty Forbes and Paula Nolan.

The ballot saw the three names below receive the highest vote counts:

  • Megan Peters, general manager, Lateral Event Management
  • Tina Eggers, director of business development, The Venues Collection
  • Vicky Troptsidis, an individual member based in South Australia

A meeting of the new board was held subsequent to the AGM, at which the offices of chair, deputy chair, treasurer and company secretary were determined. They are:

  • Chair: Michael Firman, Harry the hirer
  • Deputy chair: Beverley Williamson, Melbourne Convention Bureau
  • Treasurer: Paul Davison, SMC Conference & Function Centre
  • Company Secretary: Peter McDonald, MEA CEO

Nigel Collin, departing MEA chair, said: “The calibre of nominations received for MEA Board positions this year is indicative of the strength and tenacity of our sector… With 2022 set to be the year of recovery and growth, I am looking forward to MEA’s continued support in helping MEA members and the sector go from strength to strength.”

Michael Firman (pictured), incoming MEA chair, said: “On behalf of all continuing directors, I congratulate Megan, Tina and Vicky on their election and look forward to their contributions to the Board as we collectively work to steward MEA in a post-Covid world.”

Leave a Reply