Anak Sarawak reveals finalists for annual awards

Asia News
Anak Sarawak reveals finalists for annual awards

Malaysia’s Anak Sarawak Awards has officially announced the 17 finalists for its 9th edition.

The Anak Sarawak Awards are an initiative of the Sarawak Convention Bureau, and will take place on Friday 24 August in conjunction with Sarawak’s inaugural conference, TriBE 2018.

Nominees have been revealed for awards including the Business Events Journalism Award, the Young Leader Scholarship Award, the Meeting Venues of Excellence Award, and the Products and Services of Excellence Award.

Assistant minister of tourism, arts and culture Y.B Datuk Lee Kim Shin commented: “Industry partners, convention hosts, and the media all hold an equal stake in developing the business events sector. This is one of the platforms where we can honour their contributions.

“Everyone has different roles, but united under one single goal, our contributions will propel the sector and Sarawak forward in great strides.”

Amelia Roziman, chief operating officer of the Sarawak Convention Bureau, said: “It is with great pride that what started out as an appreciation initiative to local hosts who have won bids, has now become a benchmark of excellence for the business events sector.

“We would like to thank all our sector partners for their excellence and dedication, especially in the recent years, which us evident from our performance and the number of quality submissions we have received.”


The full list of nominees is below:

Business Events Journalism Award (Print/Online)

  1. i) Najihah Binti Abdullah Sani (Sarawak Business Event Sector Sprints Ahead, Focus Malaysia)
  2. ii) Puvaneswary A/P S.Selvadurai (An Outstanding Tribe, TTG Asia Media)

iii)        Yvonne Tuah Merawin (Biz Events: What’s Next for Sarawak, Borneo Post)

Young Leader Scholarship Award

  1. i) Jeremy anak Jamaludin (CPH Travel Agencies)
  2. ii) Prescilla Susanti Sulau (Ecogreen Holidays Sdn Bhd)

iii)        Rachel anak Frankie (Bung Bratak Cultural Group)

Meeting Venues of Excellence Award

  1. i) Hilton Kuching
  2. ii) Imperial Hotel Miri

Products and Services of Excellence Award

  1. i) Bung Batak Cultural Group
  2. ii) Edwin Lay Photography

iii)        Paradesa Borneo

Corporate Events of Excellence Award

  1. i) Big Walk with Difference 2017 (Cat City Holidays Sdn Bhd)
  2. ii) 24thIUPAC International Conference on Chemistry Education 2016 Conference Tours (CPH Travel Agencies)

iii)        55thInternational Congress and Convention Association 2016 Welcoming Dinner (Spiral Arts & Design)

Convention of Excellence Award

  1. i)55th International Congress and Convention Association Congress 2016 (CPH Travel Agencies)
  2. ii) College of Surgeons Academy of Medicine Malaysia Annual Scientific Congress (College of Surgeon Academy of Medicine Malaysia)

iii)        Tedx Kenyalang (Koperasi Pro Belia Inovatif Sarawak)

Outstanding Achievement Awards

  • To be announced at the 9thAnak Sarawak Awards –
Stuart Wood is a news reporter across the Mash Media editorial portfolio. He writes for CMW alongside sister publications Conference News, Exhibition News, Access All Areas and Exhibition World.

Leave a Reply