Janet Tan-Collis - photo credit Jacob Slaton

PCMA Chairman’s Award winner announced in Nashville

Global industry association, Professional Convention Management Association (PCMA), has announced the president of the Singapore Association of Convention and Exhibition Organisers and Suppliers (SACEOS) and chief executive of East West Planners Singapore, Janet Tan-Collis, as the winner of its 2017 Chairman’s Award.

Tan-Collis received the award from chair of the PCMA Board of Directors Mary Pat Heftman, at the association’s Convening Leaders event in Nashville, 9 January. 

Tan-Collis was recognised for her commitment to improving the industry and her involvement in driving education opportunities for emerging event professionals in the APAC region.

Tan-Collis was also praised for her part in driving an initiative, alongside her executive committee, to create and deliver the Singapore MICE Challenge, which saw its third edition in July 2017.

At the Challenge, which took place during the Singapore MICE Forum, teams of students across Singapore majoring in business and events had to produce a competitive event proposal. In return, they had the chance to win a fully-sponsored trip to this year’s PCMA Convening Leaders event in Nashville and the chance to network with more than 4,500 meetings industry professionals.

For the first time this year, both the winning and the second placed teams attended the PCMA conference and had the opportunity to present their innovative event proposals to the audience and key media.

“The success of the Singapore MICE Forum and the Challenge is testament to the relationship between SACEOS and PCMA, uniting for the same purpose of investing into education and the future of our industry,” said Heftman. “Janet’s long-standing experience, her mentorship and advocacy of industry education and professional development, make her the perfect honouree for this year’s award.”

Photo credit: Jacob Slaton


Paul Colston


Managing Editor, Conference News & Conference & Meetings World. Write Paul an E-mail

© 2009 - 2015 Mash Media Group Limited. All rights reserved.