Singapore to allow quarantine-free travel to nine more countries, including US and UK

Asia News
Singapore to allow quarantine-free travel to nine more countries, including US and UK

Travellers to and from Singapore vaccinated against Covid-19 will, be able to fly to nine more countries and return without quarantine as the republic announced new moves to reopen its borders. From 19 October, vaccinated travellers be able to fly to Canada, Denmark, France, Italy, the Netherlands, Spain, Britain and the United States. The scheme will be extended to South Korea from 15 November, the Singapore Ministry of Transport also confirmed.

Under the Vaccinated Travel Lane (VTL) scheme, visitors will now need just two PCR tests (pre-departure to enter Singapore, instead of a four-stage process. The two are: a pre-departure and on-arrival PCR test. Travellers will no longer have to take the Covid-19 PCR swab test on Day 3 and Day 7 of their arrival in Singapore.

Travellers from the nine countries will be able to enter Singapore without quarantine under the VTL scheme.

Transport minister S Iswaran announced the update to Singapore’s border measures, while the Civil Aviation Authority of Singapore (CAAS) described the decision to extend the scheme as a “cautious and step-by-step manner” designed to rebuild Singapore’s status as an international aviation hub with global connectivity. 

“With the experience and confidence gained from the VTL for Brunei Darussalam and Germany, we will extend the VTL to nine more countries,” said CAAS which designated the nine new countries Category II of the Ministry of Health’s (MOH) border risk classification. 

There are four categories in the classification, with countries in Category I deemed to be of the lowest risk of Covid-19 infections, and countries in Category IV deemed to be of the highest risk.

Full details on the VTL requirements into Singapore can be found at this website.

Managing Editor, Conference News & Conference & Meetings World. Write Paul an E-mail

Leave a Reply