Meetings and Events Australia announces new board of directors

Australasia News
Meetings and Events Australia announces new board of directors

Meetings & Events Australia (MEA) held an election for its new board of directors on 27 November, at the Meetings and Events Australia head office in North Sydney.

Three people were elected to the board, joining chairperson Anne Jamieson, who completes her second two-year term in 2019. Executive positions were subsequently appointed by the board, as follows:

Anne Jamieson (Saxton Group), Chairperson
Kate Smith (WALDRONSMITH Management), Vice Chairperson
Michael Firman (Harry the hirer), Treasurer
Alana Hay, (Milestone Creative Australia), Director
MEA employee, Sue McGrath was nominated as Company Secretary.

Anne Jamieson, Chairperson of MEA, commented: “I wish to thank our two outgoing Board members Ian Whitworth and Susan Ryman-Kiernan. Ian, for his guidance, commitment and dedication over the last four years.

“Ian has been a driving force behind MEA’s growth; displaying exceptional leadership under which MEA has evolved and now flourishes. I thank our outgoing Treasurer, Susan Ryman-Kiernan for her financial acumen, leadership, passion and commitment to MEA”.

MEA’s CEO, Robyn Johnson also commented: “MEA has been through a period of consolidation and growth and there is still a lot to be achieved. I am looking forward to working with the new MEA Board to launch new initiatives and programs in the year ahead”.

Stuart Wood is a news reporter across the Mash Media editorial portfolio. He writes for CMW alongside sister publications Conference News, Exhibition News, Access All Areas and Exhibition World.

Leave a Reply