New board members and Outstanding Contributor Award in New Zealand

Australasia News
New board members and Outstanding Contributor Award in New Zealand

Convention and Incentive New Zealand (CINZ) has elected four new board members and re-elected a further two, following its general meetings in Auckland 1 November.

The group also awarded Anna Hayward, manager of the Auckland Convention Bureau (ACB), its Outstanding Contributor Award for 2018.

Hayward has been managing the ACB for the past 11 years and played a key role in establishing the convention bureau activities for Auckland. CINZ Chief Executive Sue Sullivan presented her with the award at the business events industry’s 42nd annual conference today.

CINZ’s new board members are: Prue Daly from NZ International Convention Centre and Simon Thompson from Te Pae (Platinum category), Amanda Graham from Hamilton & Waikato Tourism (Gold category), and Kiri Atkinson-Crean from Te Puia (Silver category).

CINZ Chief Executive Sue Sullivan says the CINZ Board for the 2018-2019 year represents the diverse range of talent and skills within New Zealand’s business events sector.

She commented: “Our board members cover a thriving sector including regional tourism organisations, convention bureaux, venues, hotels, professional conference organisers and privately owned businesses.”

Speaking on Hayward’s award, Sullivan said: “Anna is passionate about ensuring Auckland is positioned as a truly international city when conference organisers are considering their options.

“Her wealth of experience has ensured that business event planners create unforgettable legacy events in Auckland. She has made a major contribution to putting New Zealand on the world map as a serious business events destination.”